Are you home sick?

June 25, 2008

In less than a week, I will be on a plane flying back to Australia for at least a month. It will be the end of my 6 month long US Trip.

6 Months away from ‘home’. The first thing people ask me when they hear that is “are you home sick”. The honest answer is I’m not really. I like the challenges and opportunities that come with being here in the Valley and traveling around the world meeting people to share ideas with.

There are things I miss though. I miss having a ‘home’. I’ve been couch surfing and traveling so much that even a few days in one spot is a welcome respite. But in reality I have not really had a ‘home’ for 6 months.

I have missed spending time with my younger brother. He’s at a time in his life where he has really needed me around and it has been hard to know that I can’t be there like he needs.

I miss knowing exactly where I am. I can drive around my home town blind folded. That being said, though, I am finding myself getting very comfortable with the bay area. The little Pontiac Solstice that my good friend Bill lent me has been very fun to drive around.

Those are the sort of things I miss.

Hopefully my few month stint back ‘home’ will allow me to ‘recover’ and I will then head back here with a full work visa, a place to live and the next chapter of my life.

In the mean time. I am having a little dinner tonight with some close friends and I have a stack of meetings left to do. Then a 14 hour flight. I will need a sleeping tablet!

6 Responses to “Are you home sick?”

  1. Dallas Clark Says:

    What year is the Pontiac Solstice? Very cool car to be driving around SF.

  2. G|oS|co Says:

    And of course when you get back you will miss the great Mexican food. Can you bring me a burrito back please? Oh and some real donuts? Ozzy Mex and Krispy Kreme JUST DO NOT CUT IT.🙂

  3. Matt Balara Says:

    Funny Chris, I’m going “home” soon too. I’m certainly homesicker than you though. Ten years in Germany. Ooof. I wrote about the change recently too.

    But I reckon there are two kinds of folks. There are homebodies – who can’t stay away for long – and there are travellers – who can’t stay put for long. Sounds like we’re both the latter.

    Enjoy your trip, and enjoy leaving again too!


  4. G|oS|co – if you are after the real mex experience in aus, you should check out “Los Hombres” in Varsity Lakes on the Gold Coast, the owner lived in Cali for quite some time when he was younger, i keep hearing from the huge yank population around here that it is as good as back home🙂


  5. […] 11, 2008 11:28 am Kim Heras Data Portability champion and Faraday Media co-founder Chris Saad has recently announced he’s on his way back to Australia after a 6-month stint in the […]

  6. Dawn Payton Says:

    Well now,
    Dear Chris, I am old enough to be your Gran, but, fit as a lop as they say. I live in England which is my home. However I have a Son in Australia, “Paynesville” I went there for three months in the year 2000 loved it,if I had been younger I might have gone to live there. I am now writing My memories, 1932 and on and on. If you are ever My way call in. I live very near Bamburgh Castle. I Promise you won,t be homesick, Big family,some are even like you.You are a lucky lad. Best of luck, Dawn P.
    If I get Printed I might let you know. PS,Do you know, Rodney Pybus, “Titons” Cricket.S Africa.?


Leave a Reply

